Roses outside the Pizza Hut at the intersection of Darnestown Road (Rte 28) and Quince Orchard Road (Rte 124) in Gaithersburg, MD. I took these pictures on my way to work, the roses caught my eye, and I pulled up – the store was still closed since it was so early in the morning, but as I was composing, the manager came out and asked me to go ahead. I complimented him on the beautiful flowers, and immediately got to work. I used my trusty Olympus OM-1 with the Panagor 90mm lens. The Panagor is my go to Macro lens, since it has a 1:1 macro capability, but more often than not, I use it for general photography, especially when photographing flowers. For flowers, there is no better lens, it’s sharp, reproduces true color (no cool or warm effect) and with a polarizer in place, it’s perfect.


Roses
Roses
Roses

Photographed with an Olympus OM-1 and Panagor 90mm f/2.8 lens at 1/125 second and f/11 using a polarizer. I used Fuji Super HQ 200 film.


text and images © 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.
Add to Technorati Favorites

