I happened to be driving back home from work on Rte 27 when this magnificent sunset happened, and I just had to stop the car and watch as the glowing orb slowly sank beneath the wooded hillside.

I got out, snapped off a couple of quick pictures with the Ricoh 500G Rangefinder, and then hauled out the old OM-1 from the back seat, and took another couple of shots. This is a busy road, so I did not try to set up a tripod ( I carry a cheap Velbon in the trunk). My fellow commuters must have thought I was nuts.

Sunsets are tricky, so I played it safe and used the Sunny f/16 rule. I was using 200 ASA film on both cameras, so I had a safe handheld 1/250 second shutter speed at f/16. I used a polarizer on the Zuiko 50mm, so the exposure was a little trickier. I decided to open up only 1 stop instead of the customary 2 stops to compensate for the polarizer’s effect. As a result, the OM-1 pictures turned out slightly underexposed, which actually made the clouds stand out better.

Sunset #1 – Ricoh 500G (40mm f/2.8)
Sunset #2 – Ricoh 500G (40mm f/2.8)
Sunset #3 – OM-1, Zuiko 50mm f/1.4
Sunset #4 – OM-1, Zuiko 50mm f/1.4

Photographs #1, #2 made with Ricoh 500G rangefinder, 1/250 second at f/16. Photographs #3, #4 with Olympus OM-1, Zuiko 50mm f/1.4 with Polarizing filter. 1/250 second at f11 to compensate for filter, slightly underexposed . Film was Fujicolor Super HQ 200


text and images © 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.
Add to Technorati Favorites

