It’s been so cold in central Maryland these past couple of weeks, I’m dreaming of late Summer to keep warm – lazy afternoons, gorgeous weather, and of course the butterflies, bugs and bees set among the lush greenery. I am lucky that most of the countryside I drive through everyday is so rural. I generally have a lot of time to listen to music, think, catch up on the news, and of course, indulge myself, stopping on an impulse to take a photograph or two.

These were taken late in the evening – I was driving along Old Taneytown Road, when I spotted this milkweed plant in full bloom, and there were several butterflies flitting about. I drove ahead, pulled over and grabbed my Minolta and walked back. The milkweed was about 10 feet away, and I did not want to get so close as to scare the butterflies away.

The one problem with AF lenses is that they tend to hunt back and forth crazily when focusing on a moving target like a flying insect – when I finally got this little guy in my sights, I realized that the milkweed flower cluster was teeming with other little critters… it was chock full of Japanese beetles feasting on the flowers, and trying to stay out of sight. The OM-2 with a short zoom would have probably been sharper… anyway, here are the photos.

Milkweed Feast #1
Milkweed Feast #2

Photographed with a Minolta Dynax 800si, Phoenix 28-105mm f/2.8-3.8 lens at 1/125 sec on Fuji Xtra 200 film.


text and images © 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.
Add to Technorati Favorites

