We were at Madhavi’s house this weekend – Sunny had a great time playing with Mahati and Aamani, and Harish and I watched the evergreen classic Sholay for the nth time, I think… I had taken my Minolta along since I wanted to take some pictures of the children playing. As I was watching them run around, my attention was drawn to the decor in the basement – I thought I’d take a few closeups of some of the Madhavi’s Objets d’Art, but since the light was poor, I had to use the Minolta’s onboard flash.

Now, I am fairly confident about daylight macros, but indoors is a different beast altogether, since AF macros tend to hunt while focusing, and the light isn’t enough accurately focus manually. Also, I haven’t had much experience with this particular lens – its a Sigma 50mm 1:1 zoom that I found on Craigslist, and it is a superb piece of glass – great value for the price. I will put up some pictures taken outdoors in another post. Instead of manually stopping down the lens to give me greater depth of focus, I used the Landscape setting, letting the camera decide, while I concentrated on composing, and holding the camera steady as I wasn’t using a tripod or support. Here are the pictures…

Ganesha Batik Print
Krishna Batik Print
Sandalwood Figurine
Painted Basket

Photographed with a Minolta Dynax 800si, Sigma 50mm f/2.8 1:1 Macro lens, Fuji 200 film, On-board Flash and Tiffen 812 warming filter – 1/60 sec at f/4


text and images © 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.

