There’s this large reservoir just east of Hampstead, MD – you drive north on Rte 27 from Westminster, and then take the Hampstead-Mexico road past Hampstead, and then continue East onto Mt. Carmel Road. It’s a bit of a drive, but worth it. Probably easier driving west from I-83. It’s a picturesque drive, though. The lake measures 10 miles by 7 miles and its actually located in Northern Baltimore County. Apparently it’s named Prettyboy after a horse by that name that drowned in a nearby stream. The Reservoir serves the City of Baltimore. I had visited it last Summer when I was exploring Westminster and its surroundings – haven’t been back for a while. It’s very rural and peaceful out there, and the surrounding country is all agricultural. I had my Minolta with me that day, and the Phoenix lens. For some reason, I had Black & White film in the camera. (I think it was because the XP2 film was close-dated and I needed to use it ASAP).
_____________________________

Prettyboy Reservoir
Prettyboy Reservoir
Prettyboy Reservoir Dam

Photographed with a Minolta Dynax 800si, Phoenix 28-105mm f/2.8-3.8, Ilford XP2 400 Black & White C-41 process film, Red 25 filter

More from the Baltimore County website – Prettyboy Reservoir Info
____________________________
copyright 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.

