We’ve lived in Bloomington since 2003, when I accepted a position as IDS at State Farm Insurance. SF is a great company to work for, and I greatly enjoyed my stay there. It was perhaps the happiest I’ve ever been in my working life… the reason I left? Defense called, and I missed working with heavy machines. Bloomington and Normal are twin cities, with a population of about 100K total, and home to 2 universities. It has to be one of the best places in the US to live and raise a family. Bought a house there in October 2003, but now that I am working in Maryland, it’s on the market.

Here are some pictures of Bloomington – I was there during the Christmas break, and I took this at noon on a cold, dreary, gray day, but at least I had even, shadowless lighting. I had the OM-2 with me, and the 24mm Vivitar lens. I also had the 28-85mm Vivitar “stovepipe” lens, to compare perspective. I had to overexpose by half a stop to compensate for the lighting, and use a warming filter to avoid the blue cast.

Old Courthouse/Mclean County Museum
Downtown Businesses
Downtown Businesses
Downtown Businesses
Downtown Businesses
Downtown Businesses

Photographed with an OM-2, Vivitar 24mm f/2.8 lens and Vivitar 28-85mm f/2.8-3.8 ‘stovepipe’ lens at 1/125 sec, f/11 and f/8 using Fuji Xtra 200 film.


text and images © 2006-2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.

