Sunayana and I went off to explore the “tall mountain” as she calls it. She was sure that we’d see bears, tigers, alligators and snakes, so we bundled up and took off. Its an easy drive from North Potomac, and we took the picturesque route… Took Darnestown Rd MD Rte 28 to the Monocacy River road, then hung a right until we got to Mt. Ephraim Rd. Then left on Mt. Ephraim Rd and by some rolling farm country until we got to the base of Sugarloaf. It’s always pleasant out there, and although it can get crowded (parking, I mean) on weekends, its a great way to spend a couple of hours outdoors. Now that the trees are bare, it’s easier to see the surrounding countryside. We drove up to the East View parking lot, and managed to get there just as someone was pulling out. Talk about luck.

I lugged along my Minolta 800si that day, with the 80-200mm AF zoom, and tucked the 50mm away in my jacket pocket just in case. As it turned out, the 50mm was more useful. Thinking about it.. I think next time I will just carry a Trip 35 or the OM-1/OM-2 with a 35mm lens. Anyway, she had a great time, and we hung about the base of the rocks until it got dark. Here are some pictures….

I taught her how to follow the blazed trails. She was so excited that she found a “path” all by herself. She likes Dora and Map, so she insisted that I carry a map with me, which she could refer to now and then. 🙂

Sugarloaf #1 – hiking up the “path”
Sugarloaf #2 – I made it!
Sugarloaf #3 – Come on, Come on…
Sugarloaf # 4 – Craggy rocks

On the way back we stopped at the Western Overlook, just managed to get there at sunset. Sunny could not get over how “beautiful” it was…

Sugarloaf #5 – Sunset

all photographs Minolta Dynax 800si, Fuji Superia 400, 50mm f/1.7 and 80-200mm f/4.5-5.6
____________________________
text and images © 2007 ajoy muralidhar. all names, websites, brands and technical data referenced are the copyright or trademark of their respective owners.

